INTRODUCTORY CHEMISTRY

CHEM 1405


SCHEDULE: (subject to change as needed)

Friday - April 10
    Lecture - Test over Biochemistry and Food Test

Thursday - April 9
    Lecture - Review for Test over Biochemistry and Food Test
    Quiz - Food - 2
Wednesday - April 8
    Lab - Food video
    Quiz - Food - 1
Tuesday - April 7
   Lab - Secret of Life
   Quiz - Nucleic Acids - 2
Monday - April 6
    Lab - Household Chemicals
    Quiz - Nucleic Acids - 1
Friday - April 3
    Lecture - no classes
Thursday - April 2
    Lecture - Food
    Quiz - proteins
Wednesday - April 1
    Lecture - Food
    Quiz - fats
Tuesday - March 31
    Lecture - Protein Synthesis
    Quiz - carbohydrates
Monday - March 30
    Lecture - Biochemistry - Nucleic Acids and DNA


Friday - March 27

    Lecture - Test over Earth, Water, Air and Energy
Thursday - March 26
    Lecture - Review for test over Earth, Water, Air and Energy
Wednesday - March 25
    Lecture - Biochemistry - Proteins
    Quiz - energy - 2
Tuesday - March 24
    Lecture - Biochemistry - Fats
    Lab - Gasoline video
    Quiz - energy - 1
Monday - March 23
    Lecture - Biochemistry - Carbohydrates
    Quiz - water - 2
Friday - March 20
    Lecture - Energy
    Quiz - water - 1
Thursday - March 19
    Lecture - Energy
    Lab - Drinking water video
    Quiz - Air
Wednesday - March 18
    Lecture - Energy
    Quiz - Chemistry of Earth - 2
Tuesday - March 17
    Lecture - Water
    Lab - metal video
    Quiz - Chemistry of Earth - 1
Monday - March 16
    Lecture -
Water


Friday - March 6
    Lecture - Test over Organic and Polymers
Thursday - March 5
    Lecture - Review for test over Organic and Polymers
    Lab - Polyethylene (video)
Wednesday - March 4
    Lecture - Air
    Quiz - Polymers rest of unit

Tuesday - March 3
    Lecture - Chemistry of Earth

    Quiz - Polymers up to rubber

Monday - March 2
    Lecture - polymers

    Quiz - functional groups
Friday - February 27
    Lecture - polymers
    Quiz - alkenes, alkynes, cyclic, aromatic, chloro, fluoro, CFC, alcohol, burning alkanes,, antifreeze, alcohol
Thursday - February 26
    Lecture - carbocylic acids, amines, amides and heterocyclic and polymers
    Quiz - a
lkane series, covalence, and isomers


Wednesday - February 25
    Lecture - Test  Acid/Bases and Oxidation-Reduction
Tuesday - February 24
    Lab - Practice and Review for test over Acid/Bases and Oxidation-Reduction
Monday - February 23
    Lecture - Classes canceled

Friday - February 20
    Lecture - carbocylic acids, amines, amides and heterocyclic
    Quiz - Corrosion and bleaches

Thursday - February 19
    Lecture - Organic - aromatics, chloro, fluoro, CFC, alcohol, ethers, and esters
    Quiz - Batteries
Wednesday - February 18
    Lecture - Organic Chemistry - covalence, hydrocarbons, structure, alkenes, alkynes, cycloalkanes
    Quiz - Acid Base - 2 (from reactions of acids and bases) (quiz 1) (quiz 2)
Tuesday - February 17
    Lecture - oxidizing agents / non-chlorine bleach
    Lab -  acid (video)
    Quiz - Acid - Base (up to and including reaction of acids and bases)
Monday - February 16
    Lecture - Lead-acid Batteries, Lithium cells, rechargeable cells


Friday - February 13
    Lecture -  Test over Chemical Bonds and Chemical Accounting

Thursday - February 12
    Lecture - Review for Chemical Bonds and Chemical Accounting
    Quiz - Solutions 
Wednesday - February 11
    Lecture - Acids/Bases and Plating and Alkaline Batteries
    Quiz - Gas Laws
Tuesday - February 10
    Lecture - Practice problems
    Quiz -  Percent Composition
Monday - February 9
    Lab - Acids and Bases
    Quiz -  naming formulas and balancing
Friday - February 6
    Lecture - PPM and dilutions
    Quiz -  writing formulas
Thursday - February 5
    Lecture - Solutions and percent solution


Wednesday - February 4
   Test on Chapters 1 - 4

Tuesday - February 3
    Lecture - review for test
Monday - February 2
    Lecture - percent composition and gas laws
    Quiz - valence, oxidation numbers and ions (quiz 1) (quiz 2)
Friday - January 30
    Lecture -
balancing equations and formula mass
    Quiz - uses of radioisotopes, protection against radiation
Thursay - January 29
    Lecture - writing and naming formulas
    Quiz - 
types of radioactivity, isotopic notation (Quiz 1)
Wednesday - January 28
    Lecture - ions, bonding , oxidation number and writing formulas
    Quiz - family name, metals/nonmetals/metalloids (Quiz 1) (Quiz 2)
Tuesday - January 27
    Lecture - nuclear power plants
    Lab - Radiation protection
    Quiz -  half-life, and radioisotopic dating (Quiz 1)
Monday - January 26
    Lecture - fission and fusion and radiation protection
    Quiz - temperature conversions (Quiz 1) (Quiz 2)
Friday - January 23
    Lecture - Nuclear Chemistry - types of radioactivity, natural radioactivity,  half-life and radioisotopic dating,
Thursday - January 22
    Lecture - valence electrons,  family names , metals/nonmetals/metalloids
    Quiz - metric system and density (Quiz 1) (Quiz 2)
Wednesday - January 21
    Lecture -  isotopes
   Quiz - elements (symbol and name)
Tuesday - January 20
    Lecture -  The Structure of the Atom, Ground states
    Lab - density
   Quiz -  physical states, compounds/elements, homo/hetro
Friday - January 16
    Lecture - Temperature conversions and Density
    Quiz - physical and chemical properties/changes
Thursday - January 15
    Lecture - Metric system and English conversion system
Wednesday - January 14
    Lecture - Introduction to Chemistry (up to and including metric system)
Tuesday - January 13
    Lecture - Introduction to Chemistry (up to the states of matter)   
Monday - January 12
    Lecture - review course syllabus


COURSE DESCRIPTION

CHEM 1405 Introductory Chemistry I (3-3-4) A survey course introducing chemistry. Topics may include inorganic, organic, biochemistry, food/physiological chemistry and environmental/consumer chemistry.  Designed for non-science majors. 


COURSE INFORMATION

    Instructor: Richard Wheet (Associate Professor Chemistry)
    Contact Information: richard.wheet@tstc.edu   254-867-4859
    Office Hours: 
    Technical Studies Building - room 161
    Lecture: M W F - 12:20 and Th - 12:15
    Lab: T - 12:15


REQUIRED TEXT/MANUALS

Chemistry for Changing Times, Hill and Kolb, Prentice Hall, Latest Edition
Tutorial Programs (click here for menu)


COURSE OBJECTIVES


COURSE SYLLABUS

    Course Syllabus  (pdf format)


COURSE OUTLINE (Outline)  I   

I    Chemistry – Central Science

II    Atoms 

III    Atomic Structure 

IV    Nuclear Chemistry 

V    Chemical Bonds

VI    Mass and Volume Relationships

VII    Acid and Bases  

VIII    Oxidation and Reduction 

IX    Organic Chemistry 

X    Polymers 

XI    Chemistry of Earth

XII    Air

XIII    Water 

XIV    Fuel Energy 

XV    Biochemistry 

XVI    Food 

XVII    Household chemicals

XIX    Drugs 

XX   Poisons