INTRODUCTORY CHEMISTRY

CHEM 1405


SCHEDULE: (subject to change as needed)

Thursday - June 4
   Test on Chapters 1 - 4

Wednesday - June 3
    Lecture - review for test

Tuesday - June 2
    Lecture - percent composition and gas laws
    Quiz - valence, oxidation numbers and ions
Monday - June 1
    Lecture -
balancing equations and formula mass
    Quiz - uses of radioisotopes, protection against radiation

Friday -May 29
    Lecture - writing and naming formulas
    Quiz - 
types of radioactivity, isotopic notation
Thursday - May 28
    Lecture - ions, bonding , oxidation number and writing formulas
    Quiz - family name, metals/nonmetals/metalloids

Wednesday - May 27
    Lecture - nuclear power plants
    Quiz -  half-life, and radioisotopic dating
Tuesday - May 26
    Lecture - fission and fusion and radiation protection
    Lab - Radiation protection
    Quiz - temperature conversions

Monday - May 25
   Memorial Day - no class
Friday - May 22
   Awards Day - no class
Thursday - May 1
    Lecture - Nuclear Chemistry - types of radioactivity, natural radioactivity,  half-life and radioisotopic dating,
Wednesday - May 20
    Lecture - valence electrons,  family names , metals/nonmetals/metalloids
    Quiz - metric system and density
Tuesday - May 19
    Lecture -  isotopes
    Lab - density
   Quiz - elements (symbol and name)
Monday - May 18
    Lecture -  The Structure of the Atom, Ground states
   Quiz -  physical states, compounds/elements, homo/hetro
Friday - May 15
    Lecture - Temperature conversions and Density
    Quiz - physical and chemical properties/changes
Thursday - May 14
    Lecture - Metric system and English conversion system
Wednesday - May 13
    Lecture - Introduction to Chemistry (up to and including metric system)
Tuesday - May 12
    Lecture - Introduction to Chemistry (up to the states of matter)   
Monday - May 11
    Lecture - review course syllabus


COURSE DESCRIPTION

CHEM 1405 Introductory Chemistry I (3-3-4) A survey course introducing chemistry. Topics may include inorganic, organic, biochemistry, food/physiological chemistry and environmental/consumer chemistry.  Designed for non-science majors. 


COURSE INFORMATION

    Instructor: Richard Wheet (Associate Professor Chemistry)
    Contact Information: richard.wheet@tstc.edu   254-867-4859
    Office Hours: 
    Technical Studies Building - room 161
    Lecture: M W F - 12:20 and Th - 12:15
    Lab: T - 12:15


REQUIRED TEXT/MANUALS

Chemistry for Changing Times, Hill and Kolb, Prentice Hall, Latest Edition
Tutorial Programs (click here for menu)


COURSE OBJECTIVES


COURSE SYLLABUS

    Course Syllabus  (pdf format)


COURSE OUTLINE (Outline)  I   

I    Chemistry – Central Science

II    Atoms 

III    Atomic Structure 

IV    Nuclear Chemistry 

V    Chemical Bonds

VI    Mass and Volume Relationships

VII    Acid and Bases  

VIII    Oxidation and Reduction 

IX    Organic Chemistry 

X    Polymers 

XI    Chemistry of Earth

XII    Air

XIII    Water 

XIV    Fuel Energy 

XV    Biochemistry 

XVI    Food 

XVII    Household chemicals

XIX    Drugs 

XX   Poisons