INTRODUCTORY CHEMISTRY

CHEM 1405


SCHEDULE: (subject to change as needed)

Wednesday - February 17
    Lecture - Organic - cycloalkanes, aromatics, chloro, fluoro, CFC, alcohol
    Quiz - Corrosion and bleaches

Tuesday - February 16
    Lecture - Organic Chemistry - covalence, hydrocarbons, structure, alkenes, alkynes
    Quiz - Batteries
Monday - February 15
    Lecture - corrosion,
oxidizing agents / non-chlorine bleach


Friday - February 12
    Lecture - Test over Chemical Bonds and Chemical Accounting
Thursday - February 11
    Lab -
Review for Chemical Bonds and Chemical Accounting
    Quiz - Acid - Base (after and including reaction of acids and bases)
Wednesday - February 10
    Lecture - Alkaline Batteries, Lead-acid Batteries, Lithium cells, rechargeable cells
    Quiz -  Acid - Base (up to and including reaction of acids and bases)
Tuesday - February 9
    Lecture - Plating
    Lab - Acids (video)
    Quiz -  Solutions
Monday - February 8
    Lecture - Acids and Bases
    Quiz -  Gas Laws
Friday - February 5
    Lecture -
dilutions and acids
    Quiz -  balancing and percent composition
Thursday - February 4
    Lecture - Solutions and percent solution
    Quiz -  
writing and naming formulas
Wednesday - February 3
    Lecture -
gas laws
    Quiz - valence, oxidation numbers and ions

Tuesday - February 2
    Lecture - writing - naming formulas, balancing equations, formula mass
and percent composition
Monday - February 1
    Lecture - ions, bonding , oxidation number and writing formulas

Friday - January 29
    Lecture - Test on Chapters 1 - 4
Thursday - January 28
    Lecture - review for test
    Quiz -  uses of radioisotopes, protection against radiation
Wednesday - January 27
    Lecture - Ions, bonding , oxidation number and writing formulas
    Quiz -  types of radioactivity, isotopic notation
Tuesday - January 26
    Lecture - nuclear power plants
    Lab - Radiation protection
    Quiz -  half-life, and radioisotopic dating
Monday - January 25
    Lab -  nuclear technology video
    Quiz -  family name, metals/nonmetals/metalloids, and valence
Friday - January 22
    Lecture - half-life, radioisotopic dating, fission and fusion and radiation protection
    Quiz -   temperature conversions
Thursday - January 21
    Lecture - family names , metals/nonmetals/metalloids, Nuclear Chemistry - types of radioactivity, natural radioactivity
    Quiz - metric system and density
Wednesday - January 20
    Lecture -  isotopes, ions and valence
    Quiz - elements (symbol and name)
Tuesday - January 19
    Lecture - The Structure of the Atom, Ground states
    Lab - density
Monday - January 18

    school holiday
Friday - January 15
    Lecture - Temperature conversions and Density
   Quiz - physical states, compounds/elements, homo/hetro
Thursday - January 14
    Lecture - Metric system and English conversion system
   Quiz - physical and chemical properties/changes
Wednesday - January 13
    Lecture - Introduction to Chemistry (up to and including metric system)
Tuesday - January 12
    Lecture - Introduction to Chemistry (up to the states of matter)   
Monday - January 11
    Lecture - review course syllabus


COURSE DESCRIPTION

CHEM 1405 Introductory Chemistry I (3-3-4) A survey course introducing chemistry. Topics may include inorganic, organic, biochemistry, food/physiological chemistry and environmental/consumer chemistry.  Designed for non-science majors.


COURSE INFORMATION

   Instructor: Richard Wheet (Associate Professor Chemistry)
    Contact Information: richard.wheet@tstc.edu   254-867-4859
    Office Hours: 
    Technical Studies Building - room 161
    Lecture: M W F - 12:20 and Th - 11:10
    Lab: T - 11:10


REQUIRED TEXT/MANUALS

Chemistry for Changing Times, Hill and Kolb, Prentice Hall, Latest Edition
Tutorial Programs (click here for menu)


COURSE OBJECTIVES


COURSE SYLLABUS

    Course Syllabus  (pdf format)


COURSE OUTLINE (Outline)  I   

I    Chemistry – Central Science

II    Atoms 

III    Atomic Structure 

IV    Nuclear Chemistry 

V    Chemical Bonds

VI    Mass and Volume Relationships

VII    Acid and Bases  

VIII    Oxidation and Reduction 

IX    Organic Chemistry 

X    Polymers 

XI    Chemistry of Earth

XII    Air

XIII    Water 

XIV    Fuel Energy 

XV    Biochemistry 

XVI    Food 

XVII    Household chemicals

XIX    Drugs 

XX   Poisons